top of page
Search
  • Kathy Murray Reynolds

Margaret (Toombs) Murray, Part 1: Career Woman

Updated: Oct 7, 2019


I did not grow up in Greenwood; but, spent the rest of my life there. I grew up in Geneva, New York with my parents, Charles and Ellen (White) Toombs. I had a sister Catherine and two brothers, Charles and Edward. I went to Nazareth College near Rochester and graduated with a general teaching degree. My favorite subject was Math and I was fluent in German and French as well as Latin. However, it was the 1930s and getting a teaching job in math as a woman was proving difficult at best.


At that time, Greenwood and Rexville were merging their schools. The Catholic Church and its congregants were in Rexville, Methodists for the most part lived in Greenwood. From 1844, the Catholic Church sat up in West Greenwood. The cemetery is still there at the intersection of Cemetery Road and Flynn. They burned the church during a diphtheria epidemic in the 1860s. They thought it would kill the rats causing the plague but it was in the water. Some families lost several members within days of each other. The church was rebuilt in Rexville in 1869. St Mary’s still exists there. However, due to a lightning strike that hit the steeple in the early 1980’s, a new church was built in 1984. While I loved the old church, I shocked some of my grandchildren by embracing this new modern church.


Back to my story. As Greenwood was to house the school, the Catholic priest in Rexville requested that a Catholic teacher be hired. The bishop reached out to Nazareth College for help and contacted me. I was excited. He cautioned me that it was a very small town and explained the situation. Not only would I have to live with the Methodist minister’s family, the job was in the English Department. I told him I would take anything at this point and off to Greenwood I went. I later rented a room from the Rollins’ right next door to what would become my family home. I never did get to teach Math or Science. However, I did teach History, French and Latin over time.


I guess my family thought this would be a short-term thing and I would be returning at some point. And, if not, then I would at least find a nice doctor or lawyer, maybe a business executive and marry. I tried dating just those types of gentlemen. Stanley was right when he said being new in town came with its perks. I did go out with a lawyer and some businessmen, not only from Greenwood but the surrounding area as well. I didn’t drive, so I really only got to Canisteo or Andover and beyond during these dates. So, I dated.


But, just as I caught Stanley’s eye, he caught mine too. He was a striking presence with that athletic build, mop of hair that he would rake his hand through as he talked, a quick smile along with that appealing smirk when he was telling a story and… those blue eyes. He could be really charming when he wanted to be. Even though I really intended to do as my family wished, what was a girl to do. I realized that he was the one for me when a suitor of mine asked, “Why do you keep going out with me when you seem to have a thing for Stanley and he doesn’t even take you anywhere?” My response to him was, “I am letting Stanley save his money for us.” Us. That was it.


Stanley was also right when he said my parents were not any too pleased when I brought him home to meet them. He left me in Geneva and to the disappointment of my family, I spent that summer missing him and realized that he was the one that I would marry. Now, Stanley told you the story of our elopement. What he didn’t tell you was my concern about whether I would be able to continue teaching after we were married. I told him being a city girl, I had no idea what a farmer’s wife did and I probably wouldn’t be good at it anyway. I was a teacher. I had only taught for a few years when we married. I wanted to teach.


He was supportive. One would think a farmer would be old fashion and want his wife to stay home just as his mother had. But, that was not what Stanley wanted. Not for me, not for himself. He was happy to have me follow my dream of a career as a teacher. And, let’s be realistic, my salary helped a lot. But, I got the most satisfaction from helping students fulfill their academic potential. At least that was what I kept telling myself on some of those chaotic days.


“Gloria (Wallace) Tracy, I would have never gotten through Latin or Shakespeare if it had not been for Mrs. Murray at good ol’ GCS.”


I even went on to teach at Jasper and Woodhull as well as back at Greenwood. But, I will share that later.


For the 1930s and 40s, Stanley and I both got started a little late. I was 28 when we started our family and 37 when the youngest was born. And, I was always a working mother.


Return for Part 2, Working Mother

123 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page