top of page
Search
  • Kathy Murray Reynolds

Back to the Farm with the Warriners



Good day! Nathan Allen Warriner, the third Nathan, so I call myself Allen here. I am a descendent of William Warriner (1582-1676) who emigrated from England to the Plymouth Colony in 1638. The first Nathan (1796-1829), four generations later, had ten children, all raised in Monson, Massachusetts. James (1803-1862) the youngest of the ten, along with three brothers, settled in Delmar Township near Wellsboro, Pennsylvania. James and his wife Lucretia "Cretey" (Butler) Warriner, raised five daughters and three sons of which two married the White sisters of West Union. The Whites are descendants of Myles Standish and John Alden of the Pilgrim settlement of 1620 and their father Bradshaw White was a storekeeper in West Union. Check out the West Union History Museum in Rexville, the Whites may be mentioned there. Velorus, a Civil War Veteran, born in 1839, married Huldah Mariah (1845-1893). And I, N. Allen Warriner (1842-1902), married Mary Permelia (1847-1925).


Velorus and Huldah moved to Greenwood and had eight children, one of which was Bradshaw, the father of Howard B whose sons Ed, David, Howard Jr, John and Richard may be familiar to many of you.


Now, I would like to share a bit about myself and Mary's and my family. As I noted before, I was born in Delmar, Tioga County, PA. After marrying Mary Permelia White, I moved to the Town of Jasper on Jackson Hill, a property just over the Greenwood line in 1865, plus or minus a year or two.



Mary Permelia here. We had two children Francis Lazelle (1866-1945), you knew him as Frank and our Effie (1864-1880) whom we lost at the young age of 16. Frank grew up as one would expect for a farmer's son. And, later Allen bought the land on the Greenwood side of the line from Silas Kellogg.


Frank here. It was on this land that Dad and I built the 1890 house and 1900 barn that are still there today. My dad, Allen, was active as an exhorter (implies the ardent urging or admonishing of an orator or preacher) and teacher in the Wesleyan Methodist Church. He also held offices in both Jasper and Greenwood.


Allen back. Yes, at this time, the Wesleyans, being abolitionists, broke away from the Methodist Episcopal church over slavery. What we called the "Gully" Church met in the schoolhouse at the corner of Jackson Hill and North Road until we built our new church. It is still there. Our Effie is buried in the cemetery just East of the church.


Wayne Warriner, 2x great grandson of Allen and Mary, here. Allen and his son Frank were involved to the extent that they were keepers of the property deed. My grandpa Marshall was still keeping it in his safe when I was a teen. My first memory of the church was when Elder Louis Kent was the preacher. Services seemed awfully long to the point that the ladies would take leave to visit the outhouse during it. I will share more when it is time to tell my parents and my story.


Marshall Warriner, son of Frank and grandson of Allen, here. In the spring of 1902 when I was 12 years old...yes, it had to be Spring as I would not yet have turned 13 that September; Allen plowed all day behind a team of horses. When grandpa finished plowing, he said to someone, "I used to turn cartwheels. I wonder if I still can." And, he proceeded to demonstrate. He then put the horses away, went in the house, sat down in his rocker and died, leaving my dad, Frank, and me to carry on at the farm. We buried him with Effie and later my grandma Mary in the Gully Cemetery in West Jasper.


Let's not end on such a somber note. I would like to think that you remember me as a hard working farmer and family man who contributed to his church. And, at the age of 60 after plowing all day, I could still turn a cartwheel. Next up, my son, Frank Warriner. Can't wait to hear his side of the story.





206 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page