top of page
Search
  • Kathy Murray Reynolds

Be a part of this journey...


A quiet day downtown. based on the VW, 1960's.

You have experienced the first of the series over the last month. I hope you are enjoying reading my blog posts as much as I am enjoying researching, interviewing, and writing them. As I have shared, I will continue to feature long-time Greenwood families and/or citizens, well, until I run out of people or stories.


I appreciate the families that have already contacted me and am looking forward to our chats. Every conversation has led to heartwarming and, yes, lots of funny stories. Let’s keep this thing going. 


While I only lived in Greenwood as an infant and toddler, I spent a lot of time there growing up. I may not know you; but, I probably know of you and your family members through my parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles and/or cousins who did spent significant parts or all of their lives there. I still sit on the porch and watch as the townspeople go by. If you see me there visiting with Aunt Sally, stop by and introduce yourself.


And, if you would like your family to be included, please reach out to me. As I interview people, I find more and more links among our families. Let’s continue to weave our story from citizen to citizen, from family to family, and from generation to generation. You may not be my best resource, but I bet you know who is. Tell me. Point me in the right direction.


One short remembrance for the road…


Who remembers Grace Young? Her extended family were the proprietors of Young and Young during Greenwood’s heyday. And, her little notebook? Grace would go from home to home throughout town jotting down our history and sharing it with the world through the Greenwood News.  Dinners with family and friends, weddings, showers, and babies. To know what color dress my mother wore, amazing. Visits, visitors and vacations. The Telephone Co-op and the Town Board. All about Troop 62; every camp out, award ceremony and community project. Cub Scouts, 4-H, Girl Scouts, the GCS Alumni Association, the Masons, the Grange, I could go on and on. If it was happening in Greenwood, Grace captured it. 


As a child, I thought, wow, my name is in the paper. A teenager, oh please with the obligatory eye roll. As a young adult, I just had to chuckle at how quaint it was that this little town of Greenwood’s citizens shared ever aspect of their lives with each other and the readers of the Canisteo and then Andover papers. Now that I am, let’s call me seasoned, I appreciate the value of those articles. And, I share a kinship with Grace. I want to tell your stories too.  

99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page