top of page
Search
  • Kathy Murray Reynolds

Fireman's Funnybone Follies

Updated: May 16, 2023

Say that 10 times fast. It's April 1955 and the Greenwood Volunteer Fire Company presented their Funnybone Follies with a number of local "thespians". I put that in quotes and I think you may agree when you see the photographic evidence. While I do not have pictures of all the players, I have enough to prove my point. My dad (John Murray) says he may have more and when I receive them, I will add to this collection.

Let's start with the program. Can you find your family, friends or neighbors?

A lot of names that have crossed our pages before, yes?

Who knows Miss Sunny Scharfenberg?

A few famous people made an appearance.

Now for the rest of the story...

III. TV Stars on Parade

Ma and Pa Kettle, locally known as Pearl Bassett and Hayden Cook.

IV. Round-up Time

Roy Rogers played by no other than Clair Cornell with his guitar...and Geraldine (Gerry) Malin as Dale Evans.

Black Beauty took two, my uncle Stan Murray and Butch Kernan. Gentlemen, who got the front and who had to play the ...?

V. Here Comes the Bride

Lloyd Chaffee never looked better as the bride. Take note that Bryan Higgins as the best man has rounded up our poor groom, Herman Guild to bring him before the Justice of the Peace, Tye D. Knott, better known as Hayden Cook.

Can you recognize Basil Downey as the jilted sweetheart crying? I need some help identifying the "ladies" in attendance. Can you align them from the program?

This one had Harold Heckman written on the back by my Grandpa Stanley Murray; but, he is not listed in the program. Who is this mystery man?

Our final act in evidence, Baton Twirling by Joyce Dixon

I found so many of my relatives here. It seems that all the Stanley Murray kids are accounted for. Dad, John Murray says he was in the program, Boy Scouts in II. Tribute to the Flag with Reed Lowery. While Aunt Ezzy (Evelyn Lounsberry Cornell) shows up in the Hick Ballet, my mother (Kathleen Lounsberry Murray) is no where to be found. Maybe she was the smartest of all. ha ha ha

If you have any pictures from this event, please share them in the Facebook Comments or send them to me via private message and I will add them to this post. We can't let this star studded extravaganza go unmemorialized, can we?

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page