top of page
Search
  • Kathy Murray Reynolds

The Murphy 7, Growing up in Greenwood

Updated: Apr 27, 2020

When asked what it was like to grow up in Greenwood, one of the first things Linda Murphy Logue shared was that if she won the lottery, she would use the money to do something for Greenwood. This has been a reoccurring theme as I talk with family members who grew up in Greenwood. Words like "idyllic", "happy" and "wonderful" just keep coming back into conversation with those that spent their time in this little village called Greenwood. Now it is the Murphy 7's turn to fill us in on their adventures in this idyllic town.


The first 4, Maria, Linda, James and Connie.


Let's start with the girls...


When asked what it was like to grow up in Greenwood, btw this is Connie (Murphy) Glasier, I just say, Greenwood was one giant family.

Linda (Murphy) Logue here. I have to agree. All the kids in town played together. When I was in fourth grade, a bunch of us got the mumps at the same time. So, while out of school, we just played together all day.

Maria (Murphy) Ross. Greenwood was a safe environment. You knew everybody and they knew you too. The teachers from GCS even remember you.

Kelly (Murphy) Perine. I love that small town feeling. I moved to Bath about 22 years ago and, well, hated it. In Greenwood there was always someone there for you when your parents were off working during the day.


Three of the girls with the famous Murphy Santa.


Now let's let the boys chime in...


Jim here. I spent a lot of time across the street at the Hunts, out in the yard playing football. I was just 4 or 5 years old, and they still let me play. Sledding behind the Methodist Church. Who remembers that time that I cut my face and had to go to the hospital for stitches or the next year my broken collar bone? Thanks John and Terry for getting me home after that one. Boy Scouts and riding on the milk truck. You remember that don't you Maria?


Mike. Kids in Greenwood were what you might call "free range". Riding our bikes all around town, gathering with friends anywhere and everywhere. I loved those big games of Hide and Seek. And, as Jim shared, scouts with Ed Mullen. We would hike to the Salt Spring to camp or to that cabin not so far outside of town.


Bill. I could walk halfway through town to school, it was safe. As Maria shared everyone knew everyone. Which could be a good or a bad thing. I call it special. I wish I could go back for just one day. One day with my best friend Gina Doretto, you remember they had that little store on your way to Rexville, or with Dean Higgins shooting pool in our basement. One day to hang out at Chaffee's Hardware, the Agway Seed Store, Redmon's Barbershop or just to stop in the bank and say hello to Dean's mom, Pat.


Connie here. If we are sharing about our besties, here is a shout out to mine, Jolene (Cheesman) Meehan. We graduated together.


For me, this is Linda, from birth to 4th grade, it was Terry Hunt. We walked to school holding hands. Then in 4th grade, I gravitated toward Valencia Green until we graduated.


Maria. I would have to say Chris Hovey, we became friends in sixth grade and are still BFFs today.


Jim. Growing up, I would have to say, Brad Clark was my best friend. We would ride bikes to Canisteo and Rexville. We were to go into the service together. We went to sign up and I was off going through processing, and he left and did not join. Oh, and I can't forget to mention Donnie Meehan, another best bud.


Mike. Merle Campbell. They had a farm near us when we moved up by Druetto's. His mom, Blanche worked at Chaffee's Hardware and was a 4-H leader.


Kelly. Melinda Moore and Deborah Hulsey were two of my besties. We used to have sleep overs in the tree house and a camper. You couldn't do that in Bath. And, I can't forget Bonnie Dennison.


Linda. If we are still talking about our best friends, I have to add that my sister Kelly is also a best friend. She was born when I was 11 years old. And, I also should mention that my Grandma Turner, who lived next door to us when we moved uptown, and I had a special bond.


Kelly. Just a quick story about Great Grandma Turner. Frank and Lena Turner lived in the little house between Druetto's and us. They met when they both worked at Corning Glass in Addison. We had a door to door path to their house. I don't think anyone would argue, I was her favorite. She packed my lunch and if I didn't like what Mom was serving for dinner, I just went to her house.


Bill here. I remember her graham cracker and cherry dessert and oh, those great chocolate chip cookies...always.


Linda back. I just have to share this story about Kelly. When she would get mad, she would hold her breath and flop on the floor. I would be scared and crying. Mom and Dad would just say "she's fine." And, I guess she was. She got her payback, her son David did the same thing to Kelly.


Bill. Speaking of my sisters, they were mean...pulled my hair.


Connie back. Hold on. I was not mean to you.


Bill back. Okay, Connie is exempt as she left when I was 3 years old. Jim was my protector. He even let me ride along with him and Brad Clark in the dune buggie.


Connie back again. My brother Mike, as Dad would say, could sell ice to an Eskimo. He would collect newspapers and sell the day old ones to people. He sold all kinds of stuff. Some of it not even his.


Jim here. I have a Mike story too. We used to go camping at the lake. One time when Mike was about 5, he got lost at Keuka Lake. He would sneak out of the tent when everyone was asleep. This time, we had looked everywhere and Maria and Dad found him at the fire station.


Oh, it wasn't just Mike who would wonder off. Kelly here. Remember the time at the campground in Bowling Green, Kentucky? The one with the amusement park attached? Billy went missing. Everyone was looking for him and then he just calm as you please, wondered back.


Bill. The way I remember it was that you were trying to abandon me and I fixed that by catching up to you. (ha, ha) I couldn't blame them for trying.


Kelly back. We camped all over the place, even to Ohio. I remember a Memorial Day trip with our cousins, wearing garbage bags as raincoats.


The girls have had their say about me, it's my turn. Mike here. After Connie and Linda moved out, Maria became "the babysitter". She was a hair puller! We did fun and silly stuff, like wrestling matches and creating our own TV show.


And, how about the chant for Billy..."We want to dance, hit someone's..." nevermind, I will stop there.


Okay, now it's my turn. Maria here. Jim and I were close in age. And, for some reason, I did all his talking for him (ha, ha). In high school, Jim would work and buy cars. He wasn't old enough to drive, so I drove them. I remember the Mustang and a Malibu convertible. Those were the days.


Also, remember Billy's radio station? Well, we were probably the only people who could hear him.


Mike here. Bill ended up being a weekend DJ on radio stations in Wellsville and Hornell. And, would go around and do dances and record hops at the local schools. I was his biggest fan. I taught him to play piano. Bill also plays bass guitar in a band.


Bill. Yes, Mike was a great piano player and don't forget the trumpet in the jazz band.


Linda here. As we mentioned in Mom's story, there was a lot of music in our house. I played the clarinet and bass clarinet. Maria and Connie played the clarinet too.


Connie, I also played the trumpet and french horn. But, the clarinet is what I played at college.


Wait, Kelly here. I played the clarinet too and the oboe. Remember, Mr Kickbush?


After all that talk about the instruments everyone played and how musical everyone was because of Mom, I have to admit, not me. Jim here. Ask June Rollins. I tried the trumpet and she took it right out of my hands and said, "I don't think this is for you." and handed me a drum stick. Turns out, I was the lone Murphy who couldn't even keep time.


Linda back. For all you Greenwoodians, we miss you! And, I would like to take a minute and fill you in on our whereabouts:


Connie is in Fredonia NY after spending some time in Orlando Florida with her then husband Wally. They had two sons Eugene and Michael.


Maria married Gerald Ross from West Union and lives in Canisteo. They had four children, Jennifer, Julie, Gerald and Jodie for whom you heard about her passing in Mom's story.


James/Jim is in Clarksville TN with his wife Linda (Hudson) doing equipment repair at Fort Campbell's Morale, Welfare and Recreation.


Mike and his wife Bonnie (Zolnoske) live in Forestville NY. They have two sons Greg and Eric and Ryan who passed away. Mike is a Director of Technology.


Kelly lives with her husband Paul Perine in Savona NY


Bill is still single, or as he calls it always single and lives in Hornell.


And me, I hang my hat in Edinboro PA with my husband Les and I have two children Shane and Heather.


Most of us are on Facebook. If you see us pop on your "you may know" list, say Hi!







247 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page