top of page
Search
  • Kathy Murray Reynolds

The Yorks...Alton and Margie

Updated: Apr 6, 2020


...As remembered by their grandchildren, the Murphys and maybe a few others

This is Jackie, the daughter of Margie and Harold Sampson. My father passed away when I was 11 years old. I was lucky, my mother found Alton York, whom I called Dad. We lived in the third house past the school on your way to Christian Hallow. Dad and Mom owned the store right there at the bottom of Andover Hill in the 40s and 50s.


John Murray here. When I was younger, the older boys hung out there on that cement barrier in front of the store. It was meant to protect the store from the trucks that may come down the hill and not be able to stop. But, those older boys loved hanging out there, chatting. Us younger ones would go inside and watch the TV in the back of the store. They had the first one in town. Sometimes, we would go out front and try and hang with the older boys. One of the things I remember them doing was putting lighter fluid into their mouths and spitting it into a flame from a lighter to make a torch.


I have another memory, not such a good one. The York's living only a few houses from us, had a couple of dogs, some kind of huskey-ish ones. One day, one of them was tied out front and some of those same older boys were teasing it a bit. I was watching, again, younger trying to hang with the older ones. Well, that dog broke the chain and those boys took off. I did not run in time and that dog bit me good. I had to have a few staples in my knee. Still have the scar. Wasn't the dog's fault though.


Stan Murray here. I remember getting my hunting license from Margie, the Town Clerk. She had a table set up on her enclosed porch. While I don't remember actually partaking at the soda fountain, I do remember the marble counter. And, that in the early 50s a truck came down the hill and clipped the store, breaking the glass. That is when the concrete wall was put up.


Jackie back. I will tell you more about my life later on. But, in order for my kids to share about their grandparents, I guess I should at least give you a preview. I married an out of towner, Jim Murphy. He came into the area when I was a senior in high school with the Gas Company. We had what would be considered a large family by today's standards; seven children: Connie in 1949, Linda in 1951, Maria in 1954, James in 1955, Mike in 1960, Kelly in 1962 and Billy in 1964. Now, they can fill you in on my parents.




Here they are with Mom. Can you tell who is who?



Linda (Murphy) Logue here. Grandpa and Grandma took us fishing in Bennett's Creek across from the Roger's Farm. We would drive through the corn fields to get there.


Kelly (Murphy) Perine here. Yes, and picnics. They took us lots of places for picnics; Boyd's Corner in Jasper and to the Almond Dam. I remember buckets of KFC chicken.


Maria (Murphy) Ross here. I remember Grandma making us birthday cakes and cupcakes. I still have her cake plate.


Mike Murphy here. I remember Grandma's Rubarb pie and that sauce.


Bill Murphy here. Thanksgiving and Christmas at Grandma and Grandpa's house. Turkey in that big roaster. And, iced tea, Fresca and Eskimo pies from the store.


Connie (Murphy) Glasier here. Grandma made me meatloaf for Thanksgiving. I was a picky eater and didn't like Turkey. And, what I remember about Grandpa was that he always gave out full-size candy bars at Halloween. His house was quite popular, some kids even came back a second time.


Linda back. Grandpa was a very sweet giving person. Those kids got a second candy bar.


Maria back. I remember going into the store and getting root beer floats at the soda fountain.


Speaking of the store, Linda again. I remember one time when things got a bit loud at our house. I am sure Maria did something (ha ha) and I got yelled at for it. I walked to the store and Grandpa gave me a fudgesicle. But, he also called home and let them know where I was; so, I got yelled at again.


Connie again. Grandpa loved his cats. And, remember Grandma's basket of dominos? How about the love of Nascar?


Maria. Yes, we had such fun with those. Connie, remember Grandma taking care of you when you had the chicken pox? Connie was always Grandma's favorite. Concensus.


James Murphy here. Nascar, racing in general was a favorite. Grandpa would take Maria and me to the Woodhull races. I remember going to watch Duane Coates, John Murray and some other guys work on Duane's race car there at the Murray Station and later at Duane and Sally (Murray)'s house.


Alton here. Margie and I led a peaceful small town life...business owners interacting with the townspeople, a step-father, no a father to Jackie, and a grandfather to a passel of kids with whom I cherished my time. Greenwood, thanks for the memories.







176 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page