top of page
Search
  • Kathy Murray Reynolds

Where did that deer mount come from?

If you are old enough to have frequented the Murray Atlantic Station's luncheonette or heard stories, you may remember a deer head mount on the wall there. No, it was not a trophy from any of the Murray boys or even the girls. It was not a leftover from JD or Jesse Armstrong either. There is a story behind this "treasure".




John Murray here. The mount belonged to me...however, I did not earn the trophy. I was not the hunter who "bagged that buck". And, to be honest, I don't even know the name of the gentleman that did. You see, I was gifted it while helping a neighbor and thought he would look great hanging at the station. Let me tell you the story...


As we have shared in other stories, my grandparents, on my father's side, after farming for many years on about 400 acres (originally the Rogers-Murray, Carr, and O'Dell farms) up at the top of Murray Hill; John and Pearl Murray purchased and moved to a home on Holt Street up next to the school. While the house is still there, the barn is long gone.


On to my story about the deer. Grandpa and Grandma bought the house from Alta York. Alta and his family were moving to the Clarence Simon's house on 417 as you go toward Andover. Clarence was moving back to the Simon's farm up in West Greenwood. You know the house, near Dennison Road, it has the bricks that lead us to think it may be a Sears Kit house. I digress. It wasn't Alta's either. I was helping Alta move his things to the Simon's house and in the Simon's house was the deer mount. I know what you are thinking, Clarence bagged that buck. But alas, that is not the end of this story either.


Well, Clarence didn't want it that was for sure. But, how he became the owner is the real story. You see, some out of town hunters...you remember how many hunters used to come and stay in town in those days, all kinds of families had guests during hunting season from all over New York state and beyond.. anyway, they were tracking this buck and it made its way unto the Simon's homestead property. The guys were good sorts. They asked Clarence for permission to follow and take him if the opportunity presented itself. It did, they did, and off they went with their prize...at least that is what Clarence thought.


He forgot all about it. Then, a few months later, those same gentlemen showed back up at Clarence's door and low and behold, with the mount as a gift to Clarence. So I guess you would say I received a re-gift of the mount. And, the end of the story is that Dad and Mom said it was okay with them if I hung it at the station. Not exciting, but, an interesting piece of history anyway.

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page