top of page
Search
  • Kathy Murray Reynolds

Christmas 1969

Many spent this holiday deployed in Vietnam.


Bob Hope traveled to visit the troops and presented his Christmas Special: Around the World with the USO.


Take a few moments and read the true story of The Day it Snowed in Vietnam by




Now, back to the good ol' USA. One of the most watched movies of 1969 was Disney's The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes with Kurt Russell. My sister, Joan Murray Kline, loved this movie as a kid. What am I saying, she and all her kids love all Disney movies.


Hello Dolly! with Barbra Streisand and Walter Matthau hit theaters too. Now, this is more my speed. I still watch this movie. Did you know Gene Kelly directed this movie? Me either. I guess I don't read the credits.


The Top 10 Songs in the United States were:


1. Someday We'll Be Together by Dianna Ross and The Supremes

2. Leaving on a Jet Plane by Peter, Paul and Mary

3. Raindrops Keep Falling on my Head by BJ Thomas

4. Down on the Corner by Credence Clearwater Revival

5. Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye by Steam

6. Holly Holy by Neil Diamond

7. Come Together by The Beatles

8. I Want You Back by The Jackson 5

9. Whole Lotta Love by Led Zeppelin

10. Take a Letter Marie by RB Greaves


In the UK, The Archies' Sugar, Sugar and Kenny Rogers' Ruby Don't Take Your Love to Town were in their Top 5.


I don't know about you; but, I recognize all the songs, some of the artists had me stumped. Who or what is Steam?


The top TV series were Look, Stranger; Manhunt; and Monty Python's Flying Circus. I never heard of the first two and never watched the third. How about you? What was I watching? Come to think about it, we really didn't watch TV then. Too busy playing outside.


And in Greenwood...


A couple local young men returned home from Vietnam to visit family: Staff Sgt Larry Dieterman and GMC3 Dean Holt.


The Youth Fellowship of UMC from Greenwood and Andover along with the Andover Presbyterian Church youth went caroling in Greenwood on the 23rd. The WSCS met at the church to pack boxes for older citizens and shut-ins accompanied by a program of readings by members.


RCLS' Zion League presented a program by the children and youth on Christmas eve.


The American Legion hosted their annual Christmas dinner.


And, two hometown girls got engaged: Jane Krusen to Greenwood's own Sgt. George McCaffrey III and Alice Marie Hanbach to Calvin Peck of Cohocton.


As I was reading through the Greenwood News to find notes about the Christmas season, I got a chuckle from this one. "Hervey Coates was approved as a substitute bus driver." I called him Uncle Duane, everyone called him Duane; well, his kids and some of us sometimes called him Du when he wasn't around. BUT, no one called him Hervey. I mean NO ONE. That is like walking up to Aunt Sally and calling her Sarah to her face. It's just not done. Sarah and Hervey? Absolutely not. They are forever Sally and Duane Coates. I guess Grace didn't know any better or she was just braver than the rest of us.


The 60s have ended and so on to another decade. What one do you think it will be? Post your guesses in the Facebook Comments.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page