top of page
Search
  • Kathy Murray Reynolds

Jim and Jackie Murphy

Updated: Apr 20, 2020



Jim Murphy (7/4/1922 - 9/9/2001) here. I did not grow up in Greenwood. I was working for the Gas Company and ended up in Greenwood. While there, I took a shine to a cute young girl by the name of Jackie (8/10/1931 - 6/9/2005). She was just a senior in high school. It was kismet.


Now, people of my generation were not so forthcoming about our personal lives. Jackie and I never shared much about our courtship with our kids.


Linda (Murphy) Logue here. Murphy #2. Yeah Dad, when we were sharing about our lives in Greenwood, when asked, we couldn't share that story or even about your wedding or honeymoon period. I would like to ask, if anyone reading this has any details about my parents before they became the parents of the 7 Murphys, please take a minute and add them to the Facebook comments.


As a young family during the 50s, we lived down by the town barns. You probably remember it as the house with the wooden Santa and the sleigh at Christmas time. I didn't know that was such a memory for people in town until this project.


In 1961, we moved up just beyond Doretto's store. The Reiman's had owned it and had it set up as a duplex. Mr Tubbs, you all remember him from good ole, GCS used to live there. We converted it back to a single family home.


Jackie here. I gave you a quick rundown of the kids in my parents story. But, let me set things up here for you again. Jim and I got married in 1949. Connie was born in November of that same year, followed by Linda in August of 1951. Next up was number 3, Maria in May of '54. Our first son, James joined in October of '55. We took a short break and Mike came along in May of 1960, Kelly in August of '62 and our youngest, Billy (I know, he likes to be called Bill now) in 1964.


Jim back. Jackie and I are going to sit back and let the kids fill you in with their impressions of us and life in Greenwood during their childhood. This should be good.


Connie (Murphy) Glasier here. Oldest of the Murphy 7. When asked about my father, the first thing that came to mind was that he was a very hard worker. He worked all the time. And, he was a great carpenter. That Santa that is always mentioned was nothing compared to everything else he created.


Linda, #2. Dad worked at the Air Preheater Company in Wellsville at night. Over time it was purchased by ALSTOM and now is listed as LJUNGSTROM. The company has been around since 1925 and many of the locals have worked there. During the day is when he worked on his carpentry projects. What I remember is that if you were sitting around just watching TV, he would say, "Don't you have anything better to do?"


Maria (Murphy) Ross, #3. Disciplinarian. And, I am not going to tell you why I say that. (ha ha).


Mike, #5. Maria may not; but, I will. There was a belt with my name on it. My dad served in World War II, earned a Bronze Star for his participation at the Battle of the Bulge. He had expectations of all of us and I fell short a few times. Check out Dad's and Jim's service flags as you drive by the old house in Greenwood.


Bill, last of the 7. He was a hero; a man's man. He knew his duty was to take care of his family and he did. He taught us right from wrong and yes, instilled it when he needed to.


Kelly (Murphy) Perine, #6. Dad was strict; but, he was always encouraging too. He held himself to a standard and he held us to one too. He expected us to do our best. It didn't need to have a perfect result, as long as we did our best.


I guess I can finally get a word in; Jim or as Mom called me above, James, #4 here. I remember Dad teaching me to drive a nail with a hammer. A simple thing; but a lesson is precision and patience. Dad would say, " we may not have the best of everything; but, we have what we need." I have to agree.


Connie back. It's time to give you a glimpse into our impressions of Mom. If I had to pick one word, it would be "Switzerland". She just never took sides or got involved in our childhood squabbles. She taught me to play the piano. She worked at the "pantie factory" as did many women from Greenwood at the time. I remember her bringing home "panties" for us girls with the days of the week on them. That was a big deal in the 60s.


Linda again. She very much emphasized education. She later worked in Alfred and took college classes. I don't know how she had the time. She volunteered at school too. She was famous for her cream puffs.


Now, I usually don't butt in, but this is Kathy Murray Reynolds, the facilitator of this history project. My Aunt Ezzy, as I call her, Evelyn (Lounsberry) Cornell, told me about her favorite recipe of my mother's (Kathleen Lounsberry Murray). It was cream puffs. As my parents, John and Kathleen Murray were Billy's (and yes, my family still refers to him as Billy) godparents, I bet that recipe came from Jackie. And, I have to say, it is very good. Back to the Murphy's.


Maria again. Basically, Mom let us do whatever we wanted to do. Maybe it was to off set Dad's tendency to be strict; I don't know. But, if you were grounded and asked, she would let you go...right on downtown on your bike. She was my best friend. When my baby died, she dropped everything and came. That was just who she was.


Kelly here. I was very close to Mom. She was someone you could always depend on. You could talk to her as a friend. She was a great cook. I know the boys will talk about music and her passing that down. For the record, before the boys point it out, I had and still do not have any musical ability.


Jim back. Yes, Mom would do anything for you. When I was in the Army and home on leave from Basic Training, I had no way back to the base. Mom drove me to Fort Dix, no questions asked.


Mike here. What I remember is her love and ability with music. As Connie said, she taught any of us who wanted to learn how to play the piano. I am the musician I am today because of Mom.


Bill back. Mom was non-judgmental. She could be funny. And, I credit Mom for my musical talent as well. She was always willing to sacrifice. I have great memories of us around the table, driving cross country and camping. We kids picked on her; she took it well.


Linda here. One of the things I remember most about my parents was that Christmas was always wonderful. I remember getting that first Barbie. You know the one with the blond hair and black and white swimsuit. I even got a Barbie house at some point in the 60s.


Connie. My memory is of a pretty doll.


Maria. What I remember is that we always got what we asked for. Christmas was special. One year, I got ice skates and even had my own personal skating rink in our back yard.


Jim. My best memory was when I was 12 or 13. A Schwinn bike; a Stingray with high handle bars and a banana seat. The coolest thing at that time.


Mike. I was big into electronics and gadgets. I remember a 50-in-1 electronics set. No one mentioned this, but, a few of us, won't mention names, Bill and Maria, used to snoop and find our presents, unwrap them, play with them and wrap them back up. I did just that with the electronics set. Oh, and one time Dad bought this AM/FM radio at the Ceres auction. It was to be for himself; but, he gave it to me.


Kelly. I remember when the younger ones of us all got walkie talkies. Mike and Bill, remember? And, in 7th or 8th grade, I asked for and got a drafting set. Jim and Linda were taking it at Boces and I wanted to learn too. Funny, when Jim put up a picture of himself in his graduating year on Facebook for the Class of 2020, he was at a drafting table.


Bill. Now this is not Christmas, but, I loved the Mickey Mouse watch that Grandma Turner gave me for my birthday. But, my most fantastic Christmas was the year I got a KittyCat snowmobile. I was so proud. And of course the electronics/mechanical expert, Mike, took the governor off of it for me. My bestie, Gina Doretto, and I were riding it, showing off a bit for everyone who was watching and I ran it straight into a poplar tree; dent in the bumper right off.


Linda back. Let's stop there with our stories and pick up next month as the Murphy 7 share more about our memories of Greenwood and of each other.


122 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page